Beginner Project toggle IO pins

BEGINNER PROJECT: ShastaPlus IO Pin Toggle

IMG_5555_copy

Objective: learn to toggle 1 pc board IO pin, then expand to 8 pins, and drive LEDs. All pins used here are called “User FPGA pins”.

As a beginner I used the Wf_Blinky.v example, online research, and Support Forum help (thank you). Although this project is a “trivial” use of an FPGA, I just wanted to get anything at all to work.

A 16 MHz crystal, external to the FPGA, is the clock source. A 28 bit register (bits 0 - 27) is incremented or decremented, depending on LED wiring, to get a slower count in the higher bits. Bit 24 could be the typical Hello World as it toggles once per second.

The upper 8 counter register bits are routed to pc board pins using @MAP (note the capitalization, I did not at first and nothing worked). Those IO pins are connected to 330Ω current limiting resistors which then connect to blue LED cathodes. The LED anodes connect to the 3.3 volt rail. A LOW or 0 in the corresponding counter register bit will turn a LED ON.

In order to have a LED counter which visually counts up, the counter register must be decremented. On power up the pins seem to all be HIGH (0xFFF FFFF). After the first decrement the counter is 0xFFF FFFE so bit 0 is LOW. If an LED were connected there, it would turn on and off too quickly to see.

Once the decrementing gets to 0xFEF FFFF (1111 1110 1111 1111 1111 1111 1111), bit 20 is LOW so LED_0 turns on, but briefly, for about 1/16 second.

When the count is 0xEFF FFFF (1110 1111 1111 1111 1111 1111 1111), that LOW in bit 24 turns on LED_4, for about 1 second.

The LEDs do work reversed, with their cathodes connected to ground and the anodes connected to the current limiting resistors. To get a visual up-counter, the FPGA counter register needs to be incremented. However, all LEDs are slightly glowing at power up and during flashing, unlike with the other wiring.