Current limits for User FPGA pins

Please help me find the max current specs for the User FPGA pins. As a complete novice to FPGAs, I want to wire up 8 LEDs and, hopefully, figure out how to make a binary counter.

I think the Lattice ICE data sheet is saying I can draw maybe 3 pins at 24 mA each so total of 72 mA. So if I throttled 8 LEDs down to 5 mA per (which can still easily be seen using high quality blue LEDs), such a circuit should be OK.

Thanks in advance.

Hi @robr,

I don’t know which blue LEDs you’re using, but the ones I have need 3.4v which is a little higher than the FPGA’s outputs. And, as you noted, you only get three high-current outputs. A LED driver chip such as the TLC5947 might work better for you.

You may also need a level shifter to drive the chip. Here’s a tutorial on level shifting to explain what’s involved.

1 Like

Hi @sarahclark,

Thank you, I had completely forgotten about LED bandgap.

All I’m trying to learn right now is to blink a single external LED but modifying the example Blinky.v program gave me compile errors. So, after poking around on web I tried this, but still no blink. Now have removed red LED and just looking at PC board pin 14 (FPGA 36) with Saleae probe. No toggling. I would think that the counter in rolling over would be toggling the state and therefore the FPGA pin.

// WF_blinkExternalLED.v
// rr August 25, 2019
// @map_IO LED_1 36

module fpga_top(output wire LED_1, input wire WF_CLK);
reg [24:0] counter;
reg state;

assign LED_1 = state;

always @ (posedge WF_CLK) begin
    counter  <= counter + 1;
    state <= counter[24];

end

endmodule

There’s a special set of driver functions defined for controlling the RGB LED outputs. See https://github.com/cliffordwolf/icestorm/blob/master/icefuzz/tests/sb_rgba_drv.v (as WebFPGA uses ice storm for synthesis IIRC.)

P.S. Did you want a 25 bit counter or a 24 bit one?

robr,